Most Points
England's Jonny Wilkinson holds the record for the most points scored by a player in the Rugby World Cup, 277 from 19 appearances

The record for the most points scored in a single tournament is held by Grant Fox, of New Zealand, who scored 120 points in 1987

South Africa's Bryan Habana and New Zealand's Jonah Lomu jointly hold the record for scoring the most World Cup tries, both having crossed the whitewash 15 times

Richie McCaw of New Zealand and Jason Leonard of England hold the record for most World Cup appearances, both having played 22 times for their countries

Percy Montgomery remains South Africa’s leading points scorer in the World Cup. He contributed 111 points in 12 games for the Boks

David Kirk was the first man to lift the Rugby World Cup after New Zealand beat France 29-9 in 1987

New Zealander Michael Jones scored the opening try at both the 1987 and 1991 Rugby World Cups

Frank Bunce has represented two nations in the Rugby World Cup, playing for Western Somoa in 1991, then New Zealand in 1995

Vasil Lobzhanidze of Georgia is the youngest player to appear in a World Cup match - aged 18 years, 340 days (against Tonga in 2015)


Southern Hemisphere Winners
New Zealand (1987, 2011 and 2015) and South Africa (1995, 2007 and 2019) are the only nations to have won the tournament three times. Australia (1991 and 1999) have won the Rugby World Cup twice.

Northern Hemisphere Winner
The only non-southern hemisphere country to win the world cup was England in 2003

Host Winners
The only nations to host and win a tournament are New Zealand (1987, 2011) and South Africa (1995)

Most Points In A Game
The most points that have been scored against a team at a World Cup is 145 by New Zealand against Japan in 1995. New Zealand scored 21 tries

Widest Winning Margin
The widest winning margin in a World Cup match is 142, achieved by Australia against Namibia in 2003

Cardiff is the only city to be involved in four World Cups – 1991, 1999, 2007 and 2015