Twickenham 1991: Australia 12 England 6


To get to the final England had relied on their forwards and the boot of Rob Andrew but completely threw that plan out of the window in the final, instead opting for a more open game against Australia.

The plan backfired as the Wallabies won courtesy of a solitary converted try.

As with the 1987 final, the match was not the classic many had hoped for and was decided by two major turning points.

The first came in the opening half when Willie Ofahengaue broke from a line-out, ripping through the English defence in the process.

As the Wallaby forwards burrowed towards the opposition line, Tony Daly pounced across for the four points.

England were by no means out of the game after the restart and came within a fingertip of scoring.

Facing a 12-3 deficit, England had a clear overlap but David Campese pounced to knock forward a pass to the open Rory Underwood.

Referee Derek Bevan opted for a penalty despite arguments from the English camp for a penalty try.

Full-back Jonathan Webb slotted over the penalty but England's only clear-cut chance had gone.

Campese, despite the infamous incident of the final, had proved to be one of the stars of the tournament as Australia went on to win as clearly the best side in the event.

Australia: Marty Roebuck; Bob Egerton, Jason Little, Tim Horan, David Campese; Michael Lynagh, Nick Farr-Jones; Tony Daly, Phil Kearns, Ewen McKenzie; John Eales, Rod McCall; Willy Ofahengaue, Simon Poidevin, Troy Coker
Scorers: Try: Daly; Con: Lynagh; Pens: Lynagh (2)

England: Jon Webb; Rory Underwood, Jeremy Guscott, Will Carling, Simon Halliday; Rob Andrew, Richard Hill; Jason Leonard, Brian Moore, Jeff Probyn; Paul Ackford, Wade Dooley; Mickey Skinner, Peter Winterbottom, Mike Teague
Scorers: Pens: Webb (2)